Testimonials

D. Helms                                                          Overall Rating:  A
HARVEST, AL 35749
Work Completed Date:  April 18, 2014
Hire Again:  Yes
Description Of Work:
Installed storm shelter.
They showed up a couple weeks early because they had an opening to install my new storm shelter so I jumped at it.  They worked that Friday but could not finish since a dumpster was not available so they had to come back the next day to finish up which threw my schedule off a little bit. It was not the end of the world though. The shelter looks good and was the best price around I could find.
T.  Kelly                                                          Overall Rating:  A
HARVEST, AL 35749
Work Completed Date:  May 05, 2014
Hire Again:  Yes
Description Of Work:
Install Storm Shelter.
Superb job by Rhodes Construction. The owner (Rhodes) came to our home the same day I called and spoke to us about all our options for putting in a storm shelter. Although he estimated it would be two weeks before he could start they were able to begin work in one week. The entire team was (Rhodes, Anthony, Stanley) were polite, professional and punctual. We purchased the largest shelter (10-12 ) and all the work was completed and the everything was cleaned up professionally. We are very pleased with Rhodes Construction.
T. Newman                                               Overall Rating:  A
Huntsville, AL 35806
Work Completed Date:
February 24, 2014
Hire Again:   Yes
Home Build Year:
2006
Description Of Work:
They built a beautiful stamped concrete patio in the back yard.
Member Comments:
It went very well.  They had to schedule around the rain, but the timing worked out fine.  Their workers are some of the hardest working men I’ve ever met.  They did everything they promised and more.  There were sprinkler lines that got hit in the excavation and they replaced them all and then some.  I would use them again in a heartbeat.
T. Lewis                                                            Overall Rating: A
MADISON, AL 35758
Date:  August 15, 2013
Hire Again:  Yes
Description Of Work:
Installed an in-ground tornado shelter
Rhodes was very flexible on scheduling. He arranged his installation around my work schedule. His men were polite and professional at all times. The work took about two days total. No details were missed- from cutting the garage floor slab, to digging the hole for the shelter, to installing the shelter itself, to pouring the concrete. The only delays were caused by subcontractors- the dumpster company, the concrete company, etc. and Rhodes was on top of those. He kept me in the loop at every step.
J. Hamilton                                                   Overall Rating:  A
MADISON, AL 35756
Work Completed Date:  February 28, 2013
Hire Again:  Yes
Description Of Work:
They installed a tornado shelter in our garage.
We had a great experience.  Rhodes carefully explained the shelters that were available and showed us examples of two of them.  We were able to set up installation dates very quickly.  The workmen came when promised, and they were very careful and polite.  They cleaned up very well as they went along and then again when they finished.
M. Stallcup                                                     Overall Rating:  A
Madison, AL 35758
Work Completed Date:   November 22, 2012
Hire Again:  Yes
Description Of Work:
The job involved cutting up our old patio (Rhodes hired a concrete cutting company), hauling the concrete chunks to the dumpster in the street that he had arranged for, digging up and removing bushes around the old patio, digging new footings and slab, and pouring/finishing the new concrete patio.
Member Comments:
Rhodes Construction does all kinds of construction work and they are also licensed for sales and installation of in-ground steel storm shelters. We were very pleased with the excavation and concrete work they did for us. We had an existing patio that we wanted removed and a new, larger one poured along with footings around the perimeter to support the walls of a large screened porch I’m going to build. Rhodes Russler, the owner, came out to see what we wanted done and looked at the plans I had drawn showing dimensions, rebar locations, slope of the new patio, etc. He had several good comments and suggestions about my plans. We also discussed the fact that he would be using heavy equipment and the amount of damage we could expect to have to our yard, which we had already thought about. He was very thorough in explaining what they would be doing and how they would do it. His very reasonable estimate was close to what we expected and he was able to start right away.
Rhodes is concerned about customer satisfaction and he asked us several times during the process if we were satisfied with the work that had been done to that point. After they started we had several stretches of heavy rain that delayed them until things dried out enough that they could start work again. Rhodes apologized for it taking so long, but we let him know we understood. He was easy to reach when we had questions, and if we had to leave a message he returned our calls promptly.
I have to give extra kudos to his employee who did most of the work, Stanley Davis. He went out of his way to be sure everything was done correctly. He was very concientious, thorough, professional and we never saw him sitting down on the job. Stanley even came out on Thanksgiving morning for a few hours (after checking with us beforehand) to finish up the final grading because the ground was finally dry enough. I would highly recommend Rhodes Construction to anybody who needs any kind of excavation or construction work
C. McAllister                                              Overall Rating: A
107 Spencer Green
MADISON, AL 35758
Work Completed Date:  March 21, 2012
Hire Again:  Yes
Description Of Work:
They installed a storm shelter in the floor of our garage.
Member Comments:
Rhodes and crew were here on time, did a great job and had the best price. His crews were polite professional and respectful of our property. We will use him for future projects.
R. Solis                                                       Overall Rating:  A
Macon, GA 31210
Work Completed Date:
April 16, 2012
Hire Again:  Yes
Description Of Work:
The actual construction job that they did for me the was the installation of a  tornado shelter in my garage. I looked at their webpage for Rhodes construction and the lead  picture was of the dog shelter where I board my dog when I go out-ot-town. I also contacted an architect that did some work for me and he was highly impressed with their work. He came out actually earlier than the scheduled date. Everything was done on time and very professionally. The process nominally says 24 hours but there is a permit and inspection involved so that it’s actually more like a two-day process. But they were on time and on schedule in all aspects of the installation. It looks very professional. I highly recommend them.
W. Davis                                                    Overall Rating:  A
Athens, AL 35611
Work Completed Date:  April 02, 2012
Hire Again:  Yes
Description Of Work:
Rhodes Construction installed a neighbor’s storm shelter. After I witnessed some of the construction and the quality of the structure, I  contacted Rhodes;  and he and his wife came to my home to view the garage (where the shelter is now located) and looked at the basement for a possible location.   They were both very congenial and professional.   We decided on a size and location for the shelter, and I made a $500.00 deposit and was scheduled for a time for installation.   Since the shelters are in great demand at this time, I was able to get the shelter installed within a month of the first visit.
The Construction people were just as congenial and professional when they did the excavation and installation.   One of the things I especially liked was that the construction people were in and out of my garage within two days.
The shelter is steel and is surrounded by concrete — both around sides and under the shelter.  Rhodes worked with me about where in the garage I wanted the shelter installed.  The workers pressure washed and cleaned the garage, driveway, and street after the construction was completed.   It looks very nice in the garage, and now I have peace of mind that I can be safe during thunderstorms and tornadoes.I would recommend this company to anyone.
Member Comments:
It went excellently well as stated above
A. Bradley                                                           Overall Rating: A
HARVEST, AL 35749
Work Completed Date:   July 14, 2014
Hire Again:  Yes
Description Of Work:
unfortunately, for us Rhodes does not do the type work we were looking for (gabled patio) BUT he did refer us to a smaller company (Bob Childs) and the interview we did with that company went off without a hitch;
I would consult with Rhodes again on anything
vs just going out there blind and hoping for the best.